Board of Directors

The EACTA Board of Directors is the highest executive level of the Association. It shall create a vision for the future of the Association and develop strategies to fulfill it. It will develop strategies regarding the cooperation with partner societies for the future of the medical specialty and for the benefit of its Members and Representative Council. The members of the EACTA Board of Directors are elected by the Representative Council.

Download the EACTA Organigramme
Download the EACTA Board of Directors job descriptions

Fabio Guarracino
Department of Anaesthesia and Critical Care Medicine
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Pisana
Via Paradisa 2
56124 Pisa, Italy
E-mail: president[at]

President Elect
Patrick Wouters
Ghent University
Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine
Chair of Department
De Pintelaan 185 2K12C
9000 Ghent, Belgium
E-mail: presidentelect[at]

Secretary General
Chirojit Mukherjee

Department of Anesthesia & Intensive care
HELIOS Clinic for Cardiac Surgery Karlsruhe
Franz-Lust-Str. 30
76185 Karlsruhe, Germany
E-mail: secretarygeneral[at]

Subspecialty Committee Coordinator
Steffen Rex
Department of Anesthesiology
University Hospitals Leuven
Herestraat 49
3000 Leuven, Belgium
E-mail: subcomcoordinator[at] 

Education Chair
Mohamed R. El-Tahan
Mansoura University, Egypt
Currently, Imam Abdulrahman Bin Faisal University, Saudi Arabia
Cardiothoracic Anaesthesia & Surgical Intensive Care
40289 Al Khubar 31952, Saudi Arabia
E-mail: educationchair[at]

Chair of the Annual Congress
Gianluca Paternoster
Division of Cardiac Resuscitation,
Cardiovascular Anesthesia and Intensive Care
San Carlo Hospital (Potenza) Italy
Via Potito Petrone
85100 Potenza (Pz), Italy
E-mail: annualcongresschair[at]


This website uses cookies technical and third party cookie profiling cookies. To learn more, please click here. By closing this banner, continuing to browse, clicking or scrolling anywhere on the screen you will be giving your consent to use of all cookies.