EACTA Haemostasis and Transfusion Committee

Patient blood management (PBM) in cardiac surgery is an evidence-based, multidisciplinary approach that aims for maintenance of haemostasis and minimization of blood loss in patients who are at risk for allogeneic blood transfusion. PBM transcends individual medical disciplines, and consists of a chain of care that spans the preoperative, intraoperative, and postoperative period.

PBM in cardiac surgery should be considered as separate entity, as the interaction between the cardiothoracic surgeon, anaesthesiologist and clinical perfusionist, the surgical procedures, the unique patient characteristics and the impact of cardiopulmonary bypass distinguishes this discipline from other surgical specialties.

The mission of the subcommittee Haemostasis and Transfusion is to promote educational and research programmes in the field of PBM and to contribute to evidence-based guidance for the clinician in involved in cardiac surgery.

Chair
Christa Boer - Netherlands
Email: c.boer@vumc.nl
Foto Christa Boer - 2
Committee members:Delegate to the Scientific Committee (incl. abstract reviewing)
Daniel Bollinger
Schwitzerland
Email: dabolliger@uhbs.ch
Delegate to the Programme Committee
Christian von Heymann
Germany
Email: christian.heymann@vivantes.de
Delegate to the Education Committee
Gabor Erdoes
Switzerland
Email: gabor.erdoes@insel.ch
Education Delegate/ESA Delegate
David Faroni
Email: david.faraoni@childrens.harvard.edu
Wulf Dietrich
Germany
Email: wulf.dietrich@t-online.de
Dave Royston
United Kingdom
Email: d.royston@rbht.nhs.uk
Michael Sander
Germany
Email: michael.sander@charite.de
Erik Ortmann
Germany
Email: e.ortmann@kerckhoff-klinik.de
Peter Rooseel
Belgium
Email: peterrosseel@telenet.be
Marcus Lance
Netherlands
Email: marcus.lance@mumc.nl
Marco Ranucci
Italy
Email: cardioanestesia@virgilio.it
Andreas Koster
Germany
Email: AKoster@hdz-nrw.de
Ekaterina Baryshnikova

 

Jörg Ender
Germany
Email: joerg.ender@medizin.uni-leipzig.de
Hanne Ravn
Denmark
Email: hanne.berg.ravn@regionh.dk
Michael Meesters
Netherlands
Email: m.meesters@vumc.nl
Seema Agarwal
United Kingdom
Email: Seema.Agarwal@lhch.nhs.uk
Birgitta Romlin
Sweden
Email: birgitta.romlin@vgregion.se
Aamer Ahmed
United Kingdom
Email: aamer.ahmed@uhl-tr.nhs.uk
Blanca Martinez
Italy
Email: blancamartinez@alice.it
Pascal Colson
France
Email: p-colson@chu-montpellier.fr
Matthias Wolf

 

Interactions and Liaisons

Society: Society of Cardiovascular Anesthesiologists – (SCA)
Website: www.scahq.org
Journal: Anesthesia & Analgesia

Society: Network for the Advancement of Patient Blood Management, Haemostasis and Thrombosis (NATA)
Website: www.nataonline.com
Journal: Transfusion Medicine
Contact: David Faraoni, Christa Boer

Society: International Society on Thrombosis and Hemostasis (ISTH)
Website: www.isth.org
Journal: Journal of Thrombosis and Hemostasis

Society: European Association for Cardiothoracic Surgery (EACTS)
Website: www.eacts.org
Journal: Interactive Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery