• E-Academy
  • Members area


The Annual Congress

The EACTA Annual Congress is recognised as a leading international forum for the exchange of knowledge in the fields of cardiovascular and thoracic anaesthesia. The inaugural meeting took place in Cambridge in 1986. Subsequently, the meeting has been organised in a large number of cities around Europe. Most recently, the meetings have been held in Vienna (2011), Amsterdam (2012), Barcelona (2013), Florence (2014), Gothenburg (2015), Basel (2016), Berlin (2017), Manchester (2018), Ghent (2019), Grenoble (2020, Online edition due to COVID-19 pandemic). The next EACTA Annual Congress 2021 will take place in Rome, Italy on December 1-3, 2021.

Each event attracts the region’s key leaders in these fields. The Annual Meeting offers a unique platform to connect with all the aspects of our sub-­speciality of cardiothoracic and vascular anaesthesia and intensive care through educational symposia, round tables, lectures, networking and social activities. By doing so, the Annual Meeting is valuable to both professional colleagues and to our industry partners. We aim to provide the environment in which innovation and collaboration can take place, through the sharing of the latest knowledge, information, creative thinking and differing global perspectives.

November 4, 2020

Bidding Requirements

Every year, the EACTA Executive Committee calls for venue proposals from the National Societies by sending out the document “request for proposal”. The receives the bids and evaluates them on the basis of objective criteria and makes a list of the top ranked venues recommended to the Board of Directors (BoD).

The BoD makes the decision for the forthcoming venues max. 8 years ahead of time and the Representative Council (RC) is informed about the decision. The first important issues is to select a LOC.

The 2022 EACTA Annual Congress will be held in Vilnius, Lithuania.

Request for proposals for hosting EACTA Annual Congress in 2023 is now open.
The deadline is May 30, 2021.

EACTA Awards Winners

1st place – “Coronary Sinus Blood Flow estimated by Transesophageal Echocardiography correlates well with Transit Time Flowmetry after Coronary Artery Bypass grafting”, A. Choudhury, S. Joshi, R. Magoon, M.P. Hote – India

2nd place ex-aequo – “The ideal sequence of didactic lectures and simulation in teaching Transoesophageal Echocardiography (TOE) to anaesthesiologists”, S. Thampi, C.C.M. Lee, A. Rohit, B. Ashokka, G.G. Ponnamperuma, L.K. Ti – Singapore
“Early post-operative Vasoplegia in Lung Transplantation”, V. Manikavasagar, R. Romano, T.-C. Aw, E. De Waal, A. Simon, N. Marczin – United Kingdom, The Netherlands
“The association between anaesthetic technique and cancer specific survival following surgical resection of non-small cell lung cancer”, S. De La Motte Watson, D. Moran, K. Puxty, B. Shelley – United Kingdom

Best Oral Presentation

1st Prize – Pulmonary hypertension and heart disease aft er pneumonectomy: the central role of endothelial cells – Pierre Sentenac (PhyMedExp laboratory, University of Montpellier, France)

2nd Prize – Effects of hyperoxia on myocardial oxygenation and function in multi-vessel coronary artery disease – Dominik Günsch (Bern University Hospital Inselspital, Department of Anaesthesia and Pain Medicine, Switzerland)

3rd Prize – The impact of non-pulsatile perfusion on cerebral blood flow and brain oxygenation – Cecilia Veraar (Medical University of Vienna, Austria)

Best Poster Presentation

1st Prize – Incidence of postoperative acute pain in cardiac surgery aft er sternotomy and lateral thoracotomy – Elena Korsik (Herzzentrum Leipzig, Anaesthesia, Leipzig, Germany)

2nd Prize – Influence of diastolic function parameters in predicting fluid responsiveness in cardiac surgery – Athanase Courbe (Montreal Heart Institute, Montreal, Canada)

3rd Prize – Effect of the perioperative lowest haemoglobin level in off-pump coronary artery bypass surgery – Hye-Bin Kim (Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine, Anesthesia and Pain Research Institute, Yonsei University College of Medicine, South Korea)

Previous Congresses